Positivity

Today, the importance of positivity was reinforced. The group met with Ricardo, who is the principle of a school called Cristo Rey, here in Chorrillos, Lima.

“Why are you here?”

This was the question that brought upon many answers. A personal satisfaction, the love to serve, finding direction and many other answers were shared. To me it is a necessity. The first time I left Peru to go back to Canada (May 2012), I knew it wasn’t going to be my last time in Peru. And since then, this is my third trip. So what is it that brings us back? or brings us here in general?

Julie, logistic co-coordinator
Julie, logistic co-coordinator
Linda with Youth in Action children.
Linda with Youth in Action children.

It is the positivity that takes over your mind and soul. To educate others, you need to love first. Love as many things as possible, and love everything you do. Being in Pacifico de Villa, for me, is a step closer to peace and love.

Avantika Mathur (trip leader) shared her thoughts today on why she is here. “Back at home, I have moments where I am confused about the direction I want to head in, but when I am in Peru, it is all of a sudden becomes clear.”

Avantika with a girl from Pacifico, Marley.
Avantika with a girl from Pacifico, Marley.

Heather law (past leader and participant), asked Ricardo what his dream was. His response, “My dream is to make people conscious about serving” “In serving, you receive.” And just like that, in those small words, was a huge meaning.

Our words and actions are immortal.

– Mansi Parasher

 

 

Leave a Reply

